Best Friends

I believe in forever. I believe that love is forever, and friendship is forever. So, if we were friends yesterday, we are friends today. Most people disagree–I know.

I don’t use words such as: “I love you” or “Friends” casually. It takes a while for you to FIT into such categories.

I met this skinny, nerdy girl back in the 6th grade. Of course, she had glasses. She was always saying, “Hi” and she barely knew my name. I usually wonder why a stranger would greet me as if we’ve known each other since the womb. It causes my head to tilt to the side with curiosity. Eventually, we had a class together in 8th grade. The first couple of days in 8th grade something hysterical happened–every single day. I’m not exaggerating. I threw my head back and laughed my heart out. I tried to stop, but I couldn’t. I held my cheeks, and I still couldn’t stop laughing. No one else was laughing, except for me and the skinny, nerdy girl. We looked at each other and had a field day. We started talking and laughing about everything. She didn’t talk much, but neither did I.

Through,

The hanging out, talking about secret crushes, random moments, eating pop tarts, sharing quarters, nickels, and dimes, song lyrics…we became friends. She is a friend that loves at all times, even when she’s angry with me. She is a friend and she is a sister.

So,

We are growing up, and we are now making decisions to better our futures.

Now,

She is choosing the Army. I’m scared and don’t know what to expect. But, you know what else brought us together? She believed and followed Christ, and I do too. He has kept us. I do believe he’ll keep her over the next four years. I am honored to have you as a friend.

And,

I love you, my friend!

Leave a Reply

