Keep on Walking

p>It has been 5 years since my high school graduation. I never expected to be where I am; however, I am here.  I graduated December of 2012, and I am still driving around with my Associate’s degree and certificate in my car. I picked it up late, and I haven’t really told anyone that I’ve graduated. Am I ashamed that it took me this long to graduate?

Well, there was a time in which I just felt humiliated with my actions. But, why did I choose to feel this way. After all, life is about choosing. So, I made the choice to feel embarrassed. I did everything right, so why was I so late in graduating. I never turned in late assignments, I studied really hard, I went to class faithfully, I passed my classes, but it still took me a MILLION YEARS. No one told me that sometimes even when you work really hard, you still may not get the desired outcome. In the midst of my humiliation people were always asking my questions that I did not have the answer to. After a while, I decided enough is enough. I can cry about it, but at this point all I can do is go back to step one and re-evaluate.

In 2008, I started college. I was ecstatic, but I had no idea what I was in for while there. My roommates were not like the people I was used to, but I may have a heart attack talking about them, so I’ll move on. We are in a recession, what if I can’t find a job? I better do Nursing. Just like that, I dropped my first plan of becoming a Social Worker. Out of fear I gave it up. I chose fear the same way I chose humiliation.

“When you’re lost in the doubt, and you can’t see what’s behind the bend, just hold on and don’t turn around”

Finally, I have decided that I’ll do exactly what I’ve always wanted to do. I am choosing contentment even while I desire to better myself. Working hard may not give you exactly what you want, but it is always worth it–ALWAYS. I’m never going to be able to see what is around the bend. I just have to trust God’s plan. I’m going to hold on to HIS hand and let HIM lead the way. Here’s to my future.
woman-walking<

Romans 8:28
And we know that all things work together for good to THEM that LOVE GOD, to them who are the called according to HIS purpose.

 

Inspired by Francesca Battistelli- Blue Sky

Every situation has a song…music is something else! Take Care

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hello! Thanks for following me and you’re my first follower. I am still trying to get to know how this works … It’s pretty neat.
    Congrats on graduating and you shouldn’t feel bad or embarrassed of your accomplishments. I am 29 years old and JUST earned my associates this year.. Also my co-worker is in her 50’s and graduated with me ( same school) lol. I should have graduated a long time ago too , but it is what it is. At least you have one because there are many who don’t have anythjng. That is something that no one can take away from you ;-).
    I’m sure that you will get your next degree in no time … Don’t be ashame , be proud … Like you said, god has a plan for you , just wait patiently because everything will eventually fall into place. . .
    Again, congrats!

    Reply

  2. You were not alone – many of my friends changed plans and took longer than they expected to graduate! Besides, I am glad we were in school at the same time and I know I am not the only person you have encouraged!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

