How I’m Loving You

I love you with all of my heart” I’ve heard that line so much in life that the significance is starting to fade. I’d say even though it is an overused phrase, it’s still sweet and pure. My beautiful niece would always say, “Aunt Wanda, I love you to my heart!” I found myself correcting her by saying, “I love you with ALL of my heart.” She’s memorable, and most conversations with her are just as memorable. And since I overthink things, I got to thinking: Should we love flesh with all of our heart. This would mean handing our all over to the very thing that we know will fail. Humans fail many times, we change, situations change, etc. I love my family and friends a great deal. My family and friends have all in some way annoyed me or unintentionally hurt my feelings from time to time. But, I choose to love them anyway, always and forever.

Broken-heart

Hypothetically speaking, What if they decided to walk away from me? What if the guy that I’ve been dating decides he doesn’t love me anymore, but he wants to “date other people” or just move on? What if my closest friend changes dramatically and doesn’t have time for me anymore thus leaving room for love to simply fade away as we “grow apart”? Again, hypothetically speaking. Because these people love me and I know it. How great it is to be loved! A blood line doesn’t make you MY family member. I couldn’t care less about a blood line. Family to me is a gift that God gave to me and they accepted me as a gift as well. My friends were picked with extra care, in some weird way they reminded me of myself. They made me laugh, shared most of the same thoughts and followed the same moral code. So, we have a mutual agreement to put up with each other, I guess. But, even so, they could still leave me, hurt me, but how can they destroy me?

They all can destroy me IF I decide to give them my WHOLE heart.  And, I’m not allowing that to happen. God never instructed us to love anyone other than HIM with our whole heart. Not even ourselves. “Deny yourself, pick up your cross, and follow me.” Because I love him with my whole heart I will do just that. But, when I’m dealing with flesh, other humans I can’t imagine completely forgetting my identity, denying myself constantly, giving them my all just to love them. I love these people with all my…wait. I love these people to my heart. It just wouldn’t be right to do the opposite of what God instructed. How dare I give you my all? Then, when or if you leave what do I have left? Who am I now, how do I go on with nothing? How do I go on with nothing, I have no pieces to even gather.

What’s the main difference in giving my whole heart and allowing someone to have a place in my heart? No, it’s not just in the phrasing. When you give your whole heart you’re giving someone the chance to completely destroy you, your identity, your everything. When you offer someone a place in your heart you can still get hurt, but though you may hurt you aren’t destroyed. I heard someone say. “Though it may hurt you, it did not harm you.” It’s easier to fill a void than it is to completely restore the entire thing. Am I right? There’s a reason for his specific instructions on loving HIM with your whole heart.  Feel free to share your thoughts.

I love you to my heart, meaning I love you. That’s it, that’s all. I love you, and you hold a special place in my heart. But, my heart, my all will forever belong to the creator, the mender of broken hearts, the healer, the protector, the one that died for me…the one that’ll protect me, forever and always. He has my heart.

Matthew 22:37-39

Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. 38. This is the first and great commandment. 39. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.

Brokenhearted? Troubled? Hurting?

2 Corinthians 4:8-9

We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair 9. Persecuted, but not forsaken; cast down, but not destroyed;

I love you all to my heart (kiddie version)
I love you and You hold a special place in my heart (love after dark, if you know what I’m saying) Just kidding…but you’ll get the picture. Guard you hearts

6 responses to this post.

  1. Hi there Wanda

    You asked me to comment on your post 🙂 God is LOVE. Love is not someTHING that God does, but it is Who he is. Those of us who have received Christ, have received God, and therefore have received Love – The Person. Love is the fruit of God’s Spirit. Love – cannot be “manufactured” or “conjured” up. Our fleshly man cannot do good by it’s own strength and ability. This is why Christ – The Person of Love, can love in and through us. We are the branches, and He is the Vine. His “sap” flows through us to those around us, so that others can eat of HIS fruit, one of them being Love! We are merely His conduits and vessels through which Love – Christ, flows.

    Romans 5:4 Such hope never disappoints or deludes or shames us, for God’s love has been poured out in our hearts through the Holy Spirit Who has been given to us.

    Reply

  2. Hey there!

    I totally agree with this.:) In addition to this, I can say that ONLY God can give perfect love, because He is Love–not just the exact representation but He is LOVE Himself.

    Even so, we shouldn’t be afraid to love and experience hurting experiences. When we love unconditionally, Other people get to know God’s love through us. On the other hand, when we hurt, there we experience God’s amazing comfort and love.There then we will only realize that only God can fulfill the void inside our hearts. Only the Perfect Love (God Himself) can give such love.

    In return, we should give our lives as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to Him. A life that is pleasing to God is A LIFE THAT LOVES.

    Reply

    • Hey! Thanks for dropping in :-). It’s true we have to grow in love, grow to love, etc. And there is no guarantee to never experiencing a broken heart, but there’s a guaranteed mender. Much love to you! 🙂

      Reply

  3. I quite like your nieces version! “I Love you to my Heart” sounds like you are loving the person into your heart! Beautiful ❤️

    Reply

Leave a Reply

