Insatiable One

It’s pretty simple to strike up a conversation with anyone during the holiday season.

Just ask, “Any special plans…?”

The thing about asking questions is that sometimes you really open up a can of worms. I asked someone what they would be doing for Christmas, and I got a lecture on how Christmas was just another day and how we don’t know when Jesus was born. A part of me wanted to say, “Duh, but I didn’t ask you that. And another thing, you don’t know when you were born, you only know what someone has told you, and we all know people lie and get things mixed up.” Those were just the thoughts floating in my head, but to prevent continuation of the lecture I dropped the subject.

All I could think about was how we finally have a day dedicated to the birth of Christ and this is the response I get—we don’t know his birthday. You can’t be serious. It does not matter his birthday, all that matters is that He was born.

No, it is not just another day. December 25th is a day set aside in remembrance of the birth of my Savior, and I dare not forget it. “Christmas is not a date, it’s a state of mind.”

If no one else says it, I will– Happy Birthday, Jesus. Thank you for all you’ve done! What a gift you really are. I love you forever and ever, my forever love. Oh, I know you don’t want a birthday cake…

 

Sweet Jesus

Leave a Reply

