Can I Handle the Truth?

No LiesLet consistent truth reign over every word.
Sprinkle each line with love, because it’s a reflection of you.
Give no pass to a lie let it be a wingless bird.
Let love spew out like the morning dew.
When the thoughts and stares of others begin to evoke the slightest of scares
Though the fire is hot continue through and lie not
Let Honesty compel like childhood dares
Here’s a secret: Truth is always the winning spot!
Scream, No admittance to a lie, knowing the hurt a lie can cause
Always deny the desire to beam and shine through sly deceit
Avoiding the need to lie with no hesitation or pause
May integrity caress you from your head to your feet.
Gird your tongue with love
And always wear truth as the winning glove.

The truth sets you free. I’m a fanatic for truth. The famous quote, “You can’t handle the truth” pops in my mind from time to time. I’m one to tell you I don’t need you to try and protect me. If I ask you for the truth, do just that–give me truth. I’ve even heard many people say, “If a lie is going to get me through…” as if the truth was so unbearable. I agree the truth can hurt you to the core, but not knowing the truth hurts worse, for me at least. What about you? How do you feel?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Excellent. I couldn’t agree more. I don’t go around volunteering my opinions to folk. But if people ask me for my opinions and thoughts, I always am 100% honest and truthful. Funny thing is, some people will get mad because they didn’t like my truth. But I at least know I was, what I like to say, “straight, no chaser” and people are better off with truth in the end.

    Reply

    • All in all, if I know it’s going to hurt you I’m going to be very gentle and find a way to avoid being a straight no chaser lol. If I hurt you by telling the truth I’ll explain myself so you won’t hurt for long, I try to speak truth in love because let’s face it, words can hurt and have a lasting impact. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

